Your browser does not support JavaScript.
James Madison University

Student Organizations

Student Occupational Therapy Association (SOTA)

Faculty Advisor:
Dr. Amy Russell Yun

Officers 2018-2019:

  • President: Colleen Dietrick
  • Vice-President/GSA Rep: Deanna Moser
  • Treasurer: Charity Wilson
  • Fundraising Chairs: Devin Nesselrodt and Sonali Kanitkar
  • Secretary: Emily Alvaro
  • Community Service Chair:   Becca Miller and Samantha Robson
  • Historian/Alumni Relations: Kristyn Peters and Hannah Sams
  • AOTA /ASD Representative : Charis Okada
  • Social Chairs: Mackenzie Ross and Lauren Prasnicki
  • Public Relations: Haley West and Heather Wright
  • VOTA Representative: Liz Gray


Mission:  SOTA is a professional student organization committed to the promotion of the occupational therapy profession and the link between occupation and wellness. We strive to provide opportunities for networking with other students and the local community, as well as professional development through scholarship and community service. We strive to have an impact on the JMU community through educational activities linking health and wellness, as well as informing potential occupational therapy students of the profession.

Pre-Occupational Therapy Association (POTA)

Faculty Advisor:
Dr. Jeanne Wenos

Officers 2018 – 2019:

  • President: Hanna Bleznak
  • Vice-President: Courtney Nelson
  • Secretary: Meredith Obzaytek
  • Treasurer: Britney Terry
  • Volunteer Coordinator: Biz Hanlon & Grace Gundling
  • Social Chairs:  Renee Salois & Camille Saunders
  • OTCES Coordinator: Tomi Hensley

Please contact through the website


Accreditation, Student Outcomes, an Certification